The Results, 11/6-7/13 + The Matchups 11/8/13

I don’t get me wrong, folks: there are many worse things in the world than working late, especially if you’re doing so because your employer wants you to watch and write about juicy, nationally televised NBA matchups.

My life is “hard,” I know. I have to wake up every day, shuffle all the way down the bowling-ball-alley-of-a-hallway of my apartment, plop myself down at my kitchen table with my laptop and pound away at the keyboard, forming thoughts about a sport that so many millions (myself included) enjoy.

Sometimes I do it in my PJs. Sometimes I don’t. Either way, I’m grateful that I get to do what I do for a living, even if it does, on occasion, subject the game I love to the mundaneness of the 9-to-5 working world.

On the surface, working late shifts three times a week would appear to provide me ample opportunity to do other things, including keeping this here blog up-to-date. But, as I’ve learned, a late start merely means that anything I have or want to do that’d normally be done after the end of the workday must now be done before that workday ever begins.

Doctors appointments fill up the docket. Dinners with friends now become lunches. Late-night workouts are powered through at the crack of noon. The morning becomes that much more valuable in a personal sense.

That can be problematic when, like me, you’re not a “morning person.”

All of which is to explain, however verbosely, why The Lazy Man’s Guide to Fantasy Sports has yet to establish itself as a daily enterprise. In time, it will be—or close to it. At the moment, it’s just a matter of integrating snarky blogposts about my fantasy failings into my long-standing circadian rhythms.

Or something.

And so, without further ado, here’s a look at where things stand between the Derrick Rosie O’Donnells and the Chicken Bargnani Heroes after a light Thursday night of NBA action:

The Derrick Rosie O’Donnells

Screen Shot 2013-11-08 at 9.49.22 AM

Chicken Bargnani Heroes

Screen Shot 2013-11-08 at 9.49.31 AM

Matchup Scoreboard

Screen Shot 2013-11-08 at 9.49.41 AM

ANALYSIS

I see a pattern emerging here: I fall way behind in points (and probably one or two other major categories), but manage to hang around in the less volume-oriented categories (i.e. steals, blocks, field goal percentage, free throw percentage).

That “approach” has me even on the scoreboard through Thursday, with only three more days to either hang on our blow it completely. The realist within can clearly see the avalanche of misery that’s coming, but the optimist is just too enthused with his rose-colored glasses to care…

That is, unless/until it all goes wrong on Friday:

The Derrick Rosie O’Donnells

Screen Shot 2013-11-08 at 9.58.14 AM

Chicken Bargnani Heroes

Screen Shot 2013-11-08 at 10.08.49 AM

ANALYSIS

It seems to be that my ridiculously careless approach to fantasy basketball is now bordering on virtual masochism. One member of my starting backcourt (Goran Dragic) probably isn’t playing.

Which is more than can be said for the other member (Devin Harris), who’s yet to play this season due to injury.

But, hey, at least my lineup looks full. If Alex Len and Humpdashian get off the pine, I might just outnumber Wass’ squad after all.

Onward and upward, D-RODS!

Follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

