The Results + What We Learned, 11/11/2013

Another week, another walloping for the Derrick Rosie O’Donnells, this time at the hands of the Chicken Bargnani Heroes:

Screen Shot 2013-11-11 at 1.06.22 AM

I was absolutely annihilated in the “raw” scoring categories (i.e. points, assists, three-pointers made), but I did hang tough in free throw percentage, steals and blocks.

More importantly, I ACTUALLY WON A COUPLE CATEGORIES!!! WOOOOO!!!! HALLE-FRICKIN’-LUJAH!

Okay, okay, so maybe I shouldn’t be so excited about eking out better rebounding and field goal percentage numbers. Heck, I probably shouldn’t celebrate a 6-2 loss in Week 2.

But we here (and by we, I mean I) at The Lazy Man’s Guide to Fantasy Sports are all about process. The journey takes precedent over the results, even if the results, lackluster as they are, grate a bit on the entertainment value of said journey.

There’s no sadness here, though. Only joy and optimism at the sight of progress.

I highly doubt that such progress will continue in anything resembling a linear fashion. The fluctuations in competition could leave me high and dry some weeks and feeling good at the end of others.

For now, I’ll savor my D-RODs’ small victories. I’ll hope that those seeds are sewn and that, with minimal effort, they’ll blossom into full-blown, harvest-worthy wins.

This will require plenty of help from the “fates,” though that could be said for the prospects of just about any fantasy basketball squad. The difference is, I need lots of good luck to stay afloat while most of my competitors simply need to avoid bad luck knock the stuffing out of me.

Who knows? Maybe this week will be the week that the worm turns in favor. I’ll keep you posted.

P.S. I wouldn’t dare diminish or dishonor the names and memories of the members of our nation’s military by trying to tie Veteran’s Day into my experiment with sloth. I would, however, like to take this opportunity to thank all those brave men and women throughout the years whose strength and sacrifice has made it possible for people like me to do silly things like keep blogs about nothing.

Follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

