The Matchups, 11/11/2013

Oh, boy. This could be an interesting week, to say the least.

And not just because my beloved D-RODs could be cruisin’ for yet another bruisin’. My opponent, Swaggy E, has both of the Oklahoma City Thunder‘s superstars (Kevin Durant and Russell Westbrook) on his roster.

Each of whom can and likely will outproduce my only OKC product (Serge Ibaka) in a heartbeat.

But forget, for a moment, that I’m about as outgunned on the personnel side as I’ve ever been. What’s more intriguing (to me, at least) is what this means for my relationship with my opponent, Ethan Norof.

For one, he’s one of the editors at Bleacher Report with whom I work most closely and most frequently. The last thing I need is to give him any reason to lay the GChat smackdown every time his squad takes mine out behind the woodshed.

Not that I would anticipate catching too much flak on my team’s behalf either way. See, as it happens, Ethan and I go way, way, WAY back. He and I grew up together at Temple Beth Hillel in Valley Village, California, where we went to Sunday school up until the time we were both Bar Mitzvah‘d.

Now, after all these years, we work together. Go figure.

I’ll refrain from sharing any embarrassing childhood stories involving Ethan unless/until I have some leverage on the scoreboard to do so. Also, I have NO idea as to what kinds of unflattering tales he’d have to spin. As such, I’d rather not set off a nuclear war of words.

Not yet, anyway.

Here’s a quick look at the matchups between our teams for today:

The Derrick Rosie O’Donnells

Screen Shot 2013-11-11 at 3.55.49 PM

Swaggy E

Screen Shot 2013-11-11 at 3.56.01 PM

ANALYSIS

Simple math: his nine active players trump my seven.

More detailed math: you could argue that most (if not all) of the guys he has going today are more productive than of my players at the moment.

Which is why I’m counting on Joakim Noah, Omer Asik and Jameer Nelson to get my D-RODs off and running…

Don’t worry; you’re not the only one who’s skeptical.

Follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

