Another “Lazy Man’s Guide” First + A Plea for YOUR HELP

Rockets v Thunder 4 by Norma Gonzalez

Rockets v Thunder 4 by Norma Gonzalez (Photo credit: thepanamerican)

I returned home from a deliciously stuffing “Friendsgiving” dinner on Sunday night to find a mysterious e-mail in my inbox that included the following block of text:

Screen Shot 2013-11-24 at 10.41.22 PM

That’s right, folks: somebody wants to trade with me!

And not just any somebody, but Joel Cordes, the very same somebody who serves as a member of Bleacher Report’s crack team of NBA editors.

My question to all of you: should I accept this trade?

In a vacuum, this deal would seem to make a ton of sense for my wounded D-RODs. Omer Asik (a.k.a. the NBA’s biggest emo kid) rarely leaves the bench for the Houston Rockets nowadays. In fact, he hasn’t played more than 20 minutes in a game since November 9th.

And considering I’ve been blown out in three-pointers in three out of four matchups so far, I’d think I should seriously entertain adding a long-range gunner like Anthony Morrow, who nailed 16 of his first 30 deep balls this season.

On the other hand, it’s not as though Morrow plays much (17 minutes) for the New Orleans Pelicans, or that he launches enough threes (2.5 per game) to make much of a dent in my weekly deficits.

Asik, meanwhile, is starting to see his playing time (and his productivity) recover. Dwight Howard’s backup has racked up 13 rebounds in 25 minutes across his last two games.

But there’s more to consider here than just what each player brings to the fantasy table. There’s also the not-so-small-but-actually-small matter of my “No Transactions!” streak. Click the “No-Transaction Calendar” link about and you’ll see that I’ve yet to swing a single trade or waiver wire pickup this season. That’s 27 days of abject (and intentional) laziness.

Is one lousy, little trade like Asik-for-Morrow really worth defying the tandem weights of precedent and history? Would I really gain enough from this to justify turning my back (somewhat) on my mission statement (also linked to above)?

You could argue—as I have to myself—that if laziness really is the goal here, then agreeing to a trade proposed by someone else still fits with my overall objective here. After all, I didn’t put the trade together, I don’t have to think about it much and the only effort of any sort that I have to put into it is a simple click or two.

If this is truly going to be the Lazy Man’s Guide to Fantasy Sports, then it’s only fitting that I farm this particular decision out to you, the fans of my humble blog. Tweet at me, vote in the poll below and/or leave a comment below to let me know what you think I should do.

Should I agree to the trade? Should I turn it down? Should I make a counteroffer? Are counteroffers even things in fantasy basketball?

I want to hear from you! Whichever option gets the most votes will be the one that I go with.

(And if your responses are particularly witty, I’ll be sure to share them with whatever tiny corner of the world my musings regularly reach. WOOHOO!!!)

Follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

