The Results, 11/25/2013

Tar Sands

Tar Sands (Photo credit: DianeWorth)

For the second week in a row, The Lazy Man has been too lazy to properly preview the weekly matchup in advance of said matchup actually starting. That, it seems, is when your entire apartment wreaks of tar and smoke.

See, I love the place where I live. The building is old and quaint, as is the unit in which I live. There are wood-vaulted ceilings, French windows, a painted-over fireplace, wooden floors, a couple archways and a long hallway that looks like a bowling alley. The place feels like it has a history behind it, if only because it’s existed for so long.

But that quality from which the apartment garners much of its charm—its age—is the very same one that’s behind many of my place’s lesser points. The stove is decades (and decades) old, and often works like it. The screens look like they haven’t been replaced in years and years, with holes that allow in unwanted “friends” from time to time.

Not surprisingly, then, my building has had a bit of work done over the last week or so, some of which has inevitably involved my apartment. The renovation of the shower in the downstairs unit revealed a leak from my shower…which meant that mine had to be taken out.

Luckily, one of my roommates has a bathroom of his own, and has been kind enough to share it.

Not that he really had much of a choice, I s’pose.

In any case, some folks were apparently finishing up the downstairs shower this morning. Apparently, there was tar involved in the process. Apparently, much of the smell and the smoke from that rose into my apartment, through the unfinished shower in my bathroom.

Which, apparently, set off the smoke alarm, which awakened me to a room (and an apartment) flooded with the smells of smoke and tar.

Naturally, that ate into my day, in terms of both time and irritation. You might not think so, but an apartment that smells like the Athabasca oil sands makes for something decidedly less than the ideal work environment.

tl;dr…sorry? Moving on, here’s how Day 1 of my matchup with Rhymes With Antetokounpo went:

The Derrick Rosie O’Donnells

Screen Shot 2013-11-26 at 12.32.02 AM

Rhymes With Antetokounpo

Screen Shot 2013-11-26 at 12.32.35 AM

Matchup Scoreboard

Screen Shot 2013-11-26 at 12.31.51 AM

ANALYSIS

Not a bad start, I’d say. Joel and I are tied in free throw percentage, he’s got the “guard” categories (points, assists, steals, three-pointers) and I’ve got the “big man” categories (field goal percentage, rebounds, blocks).

That makes sense, considering both Joel’s depth of guard and wing play and my many bigs.

Omer Asik included. I could’ve used Anthony Morrow‘s one three, but all things considered, I’d much rather stick with Asik’s 10 rebounds in 21 minutes. This whole Hack-a-Dwight thing might actually work in my favor, since the Houston Rockets are now afraid to play Dwight Howard in the fourth quarter.

As a Los Angeles Lakers fan, I must say, I’m always glad when I can derive satisfaction from Dwight’s shortcomings.

(Maybe I’m a bit vindictive after all. So what? I do what I want!)

So, thanks again to everyone who voted in the poll. You made the right decision!

For one day, at least. We’ll see about the rest of the week…

Follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

