Thanksgiving Greetings from The Lazy Man + The Results 11/27/2013

English: "The First Thanksgiving at Plymo...

English: “The First Thanksgiving at Plymouth” (1914) By Jennie A. Brownscombe (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

First and foremost, Happy Turkey Day, everybody!

Or, in my case, Happy Awesome Side Dishes Day! I gave up eating meat about three-and-a-half years ago, which, in some ways, makes Thanksgiving interesting. It’d be more “interesting” if I tried to eat turkey and/or ham and/or sausage-filled stuffing right about now.

That is, if you consider discomfort and indigestion to be “interesting.”

Truth be told, Awesome Side Dishes Day is, indeed, awesome. I mean, turkey is great and all—it’s the staple food of THE American holiday (other than Super Bowl Sunday, of course).

But let’s be real: the side dishes are the real stars of any Thanksgiving feast. I know, I know, it sounds preposterous, but think about it.

Mashed potatoes of all varieties: garlic, parmesan, garlic-parmesan. Stuffing (the non-sausage kind). Cranberry Sauce. Green bean casserole. Corn bread. Roasted fall vegetable medley. Jack-In-The-Box Munchie Meal.

(Alright, maybe not that last one.)

And that’s not including what’s for dessert. Pumpkin pie. Pecan pie. Apple pie. Cherry pie. Honey piiiiiiiiie. Fresh fruit.

I may not be eating the main course tonight, but don’t worry, I won’t be going hungry tonight.

Oh, and I s’pose I should say what I’m thankful for, eh?

Well, I’m thankful for my friends and family, most of whom keep me sane while I spend my days home alone, scribblin’ on about the NBA. I’m thankful for the fact that I get to do what I do for a living. I’m thankful that I live in LA, where it’s about 70 degrees outside and the streets are relatively unclogged today, thanks to the holiday.

And last but not least, I’m thankful for all of you who’ve taken precious time out of your busy lives to read The Lazy Man’s Guide to Fantasy Sports. I hope y’all are enjoying reading it as much as I’ve enjoyed keeping it up-to-date. It’s been a fun side project for me so far, and I look forward to keeping the ball rolling in the months (and, perhaps, years) to come.

Now that we’ve got all the sappy stuff out of the way, let’s see how my D-RODs are looking before I start inhaling food with the fam:

The Derrick Rosie O’Donnells

Screen Shot 2013-11-28 at 11.03.25 AM

Rhymes With Antetokounpo

Screen Shot 2013-11-28 at 11.03.34 AM

Matchup Scoreboard

Screen Shot 2013-11-28 at 11.03.10 AM

ANALYSIS

Looks like my D-RODs lost their tenuous grip on the field goal percentage category yesterday. A 44.7-percent shooting day for my squad (compared to 55.3 percent for Joel’s) has me in a dead-heat with my Greek Freak opposition heading into the long weekend.

On the plus side, I’ve got solid leads in points, rebounds and blocks, and am still well within striking distance in the other four categories.

The Association has closed up shop for the holiday, so none of this will change for another day or so. Be sure to check in tomorrow, though, when I preview Friday’s matchups.

In the meantime, have a happy, safe and face-stuffing holiday!

Follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

