The Results, 12/4/2013 + The End of the “No Transactions” Streak

The Derrick Rosie O’Donnells

Screen Shot 2013-12-04 at 11.39.17 PM

Phoenix $10 Beers By Sarver

Screen Shot 2013-12-04 at 11.39.25 PM

Matchup Scoreboard

Screen Shot 2013-12-04 at 11.39.06 PM

ANALYSIS

We’re only three days into the week and I’m already getting creamed in five out of eight categories. I s’pose that’s what I get for taking my sweet time making my first roster move—and for failing to update this here blog as regularly as I should.

It didn’t help that three of the seven D-RODs whose teams played on Wednesday were out due to injury. Such is the cost of trying to do right by the Lazy Man’s manifesto.

Speaking of which, I’ve finally decided what to do about the litany of injuries across my roster. For one, I’ve moved Paul Pierce (out 2-4 weeks with a broken bone in his right hand) to Injured Reserve.

There were a number of middling free-agent options from which I could select The Truth’s (temporary) replacement. I’ll admit, I was tempted to fill Pierce’s spot with Anthony Morrow. I thought it’d be somewhat ironic (not in a hipster way, of course) for me to bring aboard the very player who Joel Cordes tried to trade me in exchange for Omer Asik, especially now that Asik is on the shelf with a bruised thigh.

But I gravitated, instead, toward Terrence Ross. I’ve liked the Toronto Raptors‘ second-year swingman ever since his days as a BMOC at the University of Washington. He plays solid minutes (19 per game), shoots a decent percentage from three (.347) and, as the reigning Slam Dunk champion, has some serious hops:

That last bit bodes particularly well for Ross. At 22, Ross still has plenty of upside yet to be tapped. He’s shown flashes of bigger and better things than just being semi-buried behind the Raptors’ fleet of wings, as his three double-digit scoring efforts in his last six outings would indicate.

And if things go south in Toronto and GM Masai Ujiri decides it best to dismantle the squad, you can bet that either A) Ross will slide into a bigger role if/when Rudy Gay and/or DeMar Derozan go, or B) Ross will be tossed into a deal as a “sweetener” for a team that intends to give him playing time enough to grow.

See? I can put my hoops knowledge to good use once in a while if I really want to.

Welcome to the D-RODs, T-Ross! I’m betting big on you to take flight, if for no other reason than to ensure that my 37-day “no transaction” streak didn’t die in vain.

And to those players on my roster who are currently coping with injuries (Pierce, Asik, Jameer Nelson, Devin Harris and Alex Len), get well soon! The quicker you guys return to action, the longer my next “no transactions” streak is likely to last.

Follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

