The Results From Last Week + What We Learned

Mea culpa for the weekend hiatus, folks. Saturday was spent soaking in the glory that was KROQ‘s 24th Annual Almost Acoustic Christmas. For a rock/live music junky like myself, it doesn’t get much better than seeing Queens of the Stone Age, Vampire Weekend, the Arctic Monkeys and Cage the Elephant all on the same stage. Kings of Leon were pretty good as the closers, as well, though the hipster within still thinks the Followills lost their way after their first two albums, when steered away from the raw, curt and care-free style that made them so much fun to listen to and towards the slower, more serious style we’ve seen from them today.

(One to which Caleb Followill‘s raspy vocals aren’t all that well suited, I might add).

As for Sunday, that day was spent doing all the things that are normally reserved for Saturdays (i.e. cooking, cleaning, running errands, checking my fantasy team, etc.).

In any case, I’m back, though the Derrick Rosie O’Donnells were no better for my brief hiatus…

The Derrick Rosie O’Donnells

Screen Shot 2013-12-09 at 1.29.33 PM

Phoenix $10 Beers By Sarver

Screen Shot 2013-12-09 at 1.29.41 PM

Matchup Scoreboard

Screen Shot 2013-12-09 at 1.29.26 PM

ANALYSIS

I’m not entirely sure how to feel about the results of my rematch against Ben Leibowitz’s team.

On the one hand, the 2-6 result marks an improvement over my first go-round against the Phoenix $10 Beers, wherein my D-RODs got swept in their fantasy infancy. That opening week was rough, So, too, was this one, though at least I nabbed a couple of categories.

On the other hand, a 2-6 week still counts as pooping the proverbial bed, even more so when a bit more attention paid by yours truly could’ve yielded better results. I neglected to check my fantasy lineup whatsoever on Saturday, thereby leaving two active players (Joakim Noah and Boris Diaw) on the bench:

Screen Shot 2013-12-09 at 2.01.37 PM

You may have noticed that steals went to my opponent, even though we tied at 30 apiece. Had Diaw’s Saturday counted, I would’ve taken that category and finished down a more reasonable 3-5.

In a way, that’s cause for optimism in my corner. If I do the bare minimum (i.e. check my lineup every day, make sure all of my guys who are playing on any given night are in my actual lineup, make only the occasional transaction as needed), I can get half-decent results, even though my roster is pure and utter crap.

I just need to, you know, check my league once in a while.

Making changes to my roster ain’t so bad, either. Terrence Ross had himself a productive couple games for the D-RODs—far more productive than the injured Paul Pierce, who he replaced on my active roster for the time being. We’ll have more on Ross in a bit, actually.

Onward and upward, I s’pose. GO D-RODs!!

Follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

