Why I’ve Been Away + The Results, 1/1/2014 + The Matchups, 1/2/2014

For those of you who missed me and/or wondered why I hadn’t updated The Lazy Man’s Guide to Fantasy Sports, it’s been a hectic week around here, to say the least. The usual craziness of the holidays and all the hoopla surrounding New Year’s Eve would be reason enough to have contributed only lightly to the blogosphere over the past few days.

Unfortunately, my absence was on account of much more tragic news. A friend of mine passed away as a result of a hit-and-run. He was a charismatic, creative and engaging person who touched the lives of so many during the all-too-brief time he spent on this Earth. As jarring as it might be for me to come to grips with his absence and consider my only mortality in a new light, I can’t even imagine what his family is going through right now.

It’s to this silly blog that I often turn as a reprieve from my daily grind and from whatever minor inconveniences may result. I can only hope that writing here now will bring some peace of mind.

On a much lighter note, let me get y’all caught up on what’s been happening with the Derrick Rosie O’Donnells.

The Derrick Rosie O’Donnells

Screen Shot 2014-01-02 at 10.35.40 AM

Ames Black Falcons

Screen Shot 2014-01-02 at 10.35.46 AM

Matchup Scoreboard

Screen Shot 2014-01-02 at 10.35.28 AM

ANALYSIS

We finished off Week 9 against the Ames Black Falcons a so-so 3-5 (!!). We were close in free throw percentage and steals, but close won’t get you anywhere in the rough-and-tumble world of fantasy basketball.

Speaking of which, is momentum even a thing in fantasy basketball? If it is, it would appear to be on my side (for the time being) in my rematch with Joel Cordes’ Rhymes with Antetokounpo:

The Derrick Rosie O’Donnells

Screen Shot 2014-01-02 at 10.50.32 AM

Rhymes With Antetokounpo

Screen Shot 2014-01-02 at 10.50.40 AM

Matchup Scoreboard

Screen Shot 2014-01-02 at 10.50.25 AM

ANALYSIS

It’s Thursday and I have a 5-3 lead.

I know, I can’t believe it, either. I’d be just as surprised if it lasted much longer. After all, Joel’s team made up quite a bit of ground on Wednesday, in large part because I had but two players (Terrence Ross and Nene) who were active that evening.

Let’s see how things might shift on Thursday, shall we?

The Derrick Rosie O’Donnells

Screen Shot 2014-01-02 at 10.52.55 AM

Rhymes With Antetokounpo

Screen Shot 2014-01-02 at 10.53.08 AM

ANALYSIS

We’re even on the “basic math” level, which means tonight’s results will come down to whose team is more productive overall.

(Isn’t that always the case, though?)

I’m interested to see what Serge Ibaka and Joakim Noah can do against the limited front lines of the Brooklyn Nets and the Boston Celtics, respectively. Ibaka went for a solid 17-4 with three blocks in his last outing against the Portland Trail Blazers, but hasn’t been doing much in the way of rebounding lately, he’s averaged just 5.4 per game over his last five. Luckily, Noah, who nabbed 16 boards his last time out, should be able to make up for that if need be.

And I’ll need every carom I can get, what with my D-RODs down 27 in rebounds right now.

As for the rest, productive nights from Goran Dragic and Jameer Nelson would go a long way toward extending my lead in points and digging into Joel’s in assists.

We’ll see how things shake out from an unusually busy Thursday night on the NBA calendar.

Follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

