The Results From Last Week + What We Learned

Hey all! I would’ve had a wrap-up of last week’s action up yesterday, but the NBA’s MLK Day slate, which started mighty early on Monday, caught me flat-footed. My apologies to those who were expecting a more prompt update.

Especially given the nature of the results…

The Derrick Rosie O’Donnells

Screen Shot 2014-01-21 at 10.39.09 AM

The Pipe

Screen Shot 2014-01-21 at 10.39.17 AM

Matchup Scoreboard

Screen Shot 2014-01-21 at 10.38.50 AM

ANALYSIS

I GOT THE PIPE! I GOT THE PIPE! HALLE-FRICKIN’-LUJAH, I GOT THE PIPE!!!

After all the sweating and squirming and worrying about getting blown away on this day or that, my Derrick Rosie O’Donnells pulled out a 5-3 victory over Josh Cohen’s squad. We lost the battle in points, rebounds and three-pointers, but won the war by pulling ahead in the percentage categories while maintaining leads in steals, blocks, and assists.

Those results register as milestones in more ways than one for the Lazy Man’s Guide to Fantasy Sports. For one, this past week was just the second from which my D-RODs emerged with a winning record. That last happened in Week 7, when Jonathan Wasserman’s Chicken Bargnani Heroes so kindly conceded the scoreboard to me, 7-1.

In the grander scheme of things, my narrow win over The Pipe ensured that I’m no longer in sole possession of last place! For the time being, I’m sharing the cellar of B/R NBA Hoopsters with Grant Hughes’ “creatively named” Team Hughes, with just one game between me and Mike Walsh’s Big State.

Screen Shot 2014-01-21 at 10.53.39 AM

With another good week from my club, I may yet escape rock-bottom and set myself on a path toward (something closer to) the top.

Follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

