The Results 1/27/2014 + The Matchups 1/28/2014

It’s time for those of us here at The Lazy Man’s Guide to Fantasy Sports to dive head-first into the final week of January. This time, my Derrick Rosie O’Donnells find themselves up against Dan Favale’s 50 Shades of Aaron Gray, which leans heavily on the likes of Carmelo Anthony, Tim Duncan, Jeff Teague, O.J. Mayo and Amar’e Stoudemire (!!!) to stuff the stat sheet.

Of course, me so much as chuckling at someone else’s fantasy squad is equivalent to chucking a boulder through the side of a crystalline palace. I’m lucky to not be worse off in Bleacher Report’s fantasy league right now that I am with Joakim Noah, Paul Pierce, Goran Dragic, Serge Ibaka, Jameer Nelson and Nene doubling as my most productive players.

That being said, maybe I should be a bit cockier about my squad’s prospects after Monday’s proceedings…

The Derrick Rosie O’Donnells

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 10.37.37 AM

50 Shades of Aaron Gray

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 10.37.45 AM

Matchup Scoreboard

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 10.37.21 AM

ANALYSIS

My D-RODs are off to a flying start…for once. Superb scoring efforts from Goran Dragic and Paul Pierce put me well ahead in points, three-pointers, field goal percentage and free throw percentage, while Serge Ibaka’s six-block performance against the Atlanta Hawks made my early advantage in swats a decisive one.

You’ll hear no complaints from me about a 7-1 advantage after Day 1, though it’s not entirely rock-solid. I’m up in steals by only a single theft, and Dan Favale’s squad needs just five more boards to force a tie in that category.

Still, whatever case of the Mondays I might’ve otherwise had melted away as soon as I saw those early returns.

Emphasis on “early.”

The Derrick Rosie O’Donnells

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 2.42.50 PM

50 Shades of Aaron Gray

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 2.42.57 PM

ANALYSIS

Things figure to even out a bit between my D-RODs and Dan’s 50 Shades by the time tonight’s seven-game slate has come and gone. He’s got Carmelo Anthony and Tim Duncan on the docket, while I’ll have to rely on Jameer Nelson, Nene and Boris Diaw to carry the load for my team.

It doesn’t help my case, either, that the simple math favors Dan’s team to the extent that it does. He’s got six to my five, but Alonzo Gee, who’s played all of 49 minutes since Christmas, might as well not count at this point.

I can only hope, then, that 50 Shades won’t make up too much grounds on my D-RODs tonight. Then again, the week is young, with so many battles yet to be lost and won.

Follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

