The Results From Last Week + Getting Up to Speed This Week

Before we get into Monday’s misery, let’s recap how last week ended, especially since it ended so well for my Derrick Rosie O’Donnells…

The Derrick Rosie O’Donnells

Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 10.48.26 AM

Team Hughes

Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 10.48.34 AM

Matchup Scoreboard

Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 10.48.17 AM

ANALYSIS

Well, would ya look at that? My matchup with (perhaps) the only other owner in Bleacher Report’s fantasy league who’s more apathetic than myself yielded a 7-1 for my D-RODs. Had I not forgotten to slot Nene into my lineup on Friday, I probably would’ve had my first clean sweep of the 2013-14 season.

Not that you’ll find me complaining. This last matchup not only extended my non-losing streak to four weeks, but also secured me my first back-to-back winning weeks of my measly fantasy basketball career—both at 7-1, no less!!! WOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!

Thanks to that, I’ve moved into a virtual tie for 14th place in the B/R fantasy league.

Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 10.57.10 AM

Progress, people. Progress.

Until this week, anyway. I’m now up against B/R National NBA Featured Columnist Adam Fromal, whose aggressive layups have him in first place in the North division. He’s got himself a solid group of productive players—from Blake Griffin and John Wall to Thaddeus Young, Andre Iguodala and Marcin Gortat—that blows the doors off my team’s core.

Not to be all doom and gloom on a Tuesday, but I wouldn’t be surprised if Adam came away with another strong week at my expense, but we’ll see…

The Derrick Rosie O’Donnells

Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 11.08.05 AM

The Aggressive Layups

Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 11.08.14 AM

Matchup Scoreboard

Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 11.07.53 AM

ANALYSIS

The bad news: we’re down 6-2 right off the bat. The good news: it’s only been one day, so we’re not that far behind.

Coming up empty on steals and nearly empty on free throws (1-of-2 from Omer Asik) didn’t help my cause. Neither did my overall lack of impact performances from a relatively barebones lineup.

Luckily, Adam didn’t have his A-team going either. Nor will he be fielding his best squad during tonight’s seven-game NBA slate…

The Derrick Rosie O’Donnells

Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 11.08.05 AM

The Aggressive Layups

Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 11.08.14 AM

ANALYSIS

The initial “simple math” goes to yours truly, but with Alonzo Gee and Alex Len counted among my seven-man squad, I might as well be even at five players apiece with Adam’s Layups. If Goran Dragic and Joakim Noah can neutralize the contributions of John Wall and Marcin Gortat, respectively, my D-RODs should be able to make up some ground on the scoreboard by evening’s end.

Even more so if Dragic and Devin Harris can rack up the steals, assists and free throws I need to make a run at one of the B/R league’s best.

Follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

